RSS

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

16 Nov

This weekend, moviegoers will be treated to a seventh serving of the Harry Potter series (I’m sure you’ve heard of it) in film form with “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.” The film, based on the final book of the series will actually be split into two movies, with the conclusion of the film hitting theaters in July. While most of the critics have been singing the praises of director David Yates’ latest installment, some say that splitting the movie has made Part I of “Deathly Hallows” a bit slow. I find that hard to believe.  For starters, the book was awesome all the way through. Also, as someone who has had a love/hate relationship with the film adaptations, it has been amazing to see the cast come of age (literally) and begin to nail their characters. With the exception of Daniel Radcliffe as Harry (who really sucks, and I personally wouldn’t mind if they replaced him this late in the series), the casting, which was much maligned by the masses originally, has really come into its own.

No one is a better example of this than the suddenly stunning Emma Watson. Not only does she have sex appeal by the bundle (if I do say so myself), she is also the best actor of the entire cast in my opinion, and does justice to Hermione, (arguably) the best character in the series. She literally carries every scene she is in, and does a great job capturing the changes in mindset and personality that the character experiences throughout the series. We got mad love for Ms. Watson over here…

Also, as the series gradually gets darker and more adult, moving further and further from the children’s books that began the series, the movies get better and better. The director and writers have done an amazing job capturing this shift in style and presentation, and I can’t wait to see this spectacle for myself. Like many of you, I’ll be lined up at my local theater to check out the newest JK Rowling blockbuster. Let me know what y’all think and I’ll do the same. Check the trailer below.

Shout out to Maxim for the pics.

UPDATE: (SPOILER ALERT) So, I got a chance to check out HP7 this weekend, and it was AMAZING! As I talked about before, the performances were amazing, especially by Rupert Grint, who plays Ron Weasley in the series. In my opinion, Ron is the hardest character to portray in the series because has the most rapid mood changes. One second, he’ll be making some smart-alec quip, the next he’ll be trying to hide his love for Hermione, and the next he’ll be pissed off at Harry and accusing his two best friends of being lovers. The scene where Ron leaves the tent was very well done. As I said before, I’ve always thought that Emma Watson was the best actor of them all, but I’ll have to say that in HP7 part I, Rupert hit the home run.

I do have one gripe though, and its not minor. Most critics are griping about the fact that the movie was split and where the writers chose to end it, but I felt that the death of Dobby was a great way to end the film. My gripe has to do with how the scene where Hermione was being tortured by Bellatrix Lestrange was done. In the book, this was easily the most powerful scene in the series to me, not just because my favorite character was being tortured, but because of how Ron reacted from the cellar below. In the book, Ron went nuts listening to the love of his life get tortured while in the movie, this was downplayed alot. I have no idea why this is so, but it really gutted one of my favorite scenes in the series.

However, the rest of the film more than made up for this. They did a great job illustrating the new direction of the Ministry of Magic with Umbridge at the helm, showing alot of anti-muggle materials that were strangely reminiscent of Hitler’s Germany. Scary stuff. Also, the animated illustration of the “Tale of the 3 Brothers,” which is the source of the the namesake of the 7th Book, was very well done.

Overall, I’d say this is the second best movie (so far) of the series (behind The Half-Blood Prince and just in front of The Goblet of Fire). However, the way that the movie is ended in July is crucial. The last fight scene at Hogwarts can potentially rival the amazing war scene in the last Lord of the Rings movie, and the film’s cast and writers have already shown they are capable of epic fight scenes, as seen in the Ministry of Magic fight in The Order of the Phoenix.  Just sad I have to wait until next year to see it. Hope yall enjoyed the flick. Feel free to comment.

-MichaelYoungHistory

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Movies

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

  1. thebigsocrates

    November 16, 2010 at 1:27 PM

    I would personally like to show Hermione my Patronus charm…. Also Justinfication has gone on record of saying he’s passing on this movie but has up till this point seen all the Twilight movies. Just wanted to present that bit of evidence to the court of public opinion.

     
  2. justinfication

    November 16, 2010 at 1:52 PM

    What?! I’m just nuetral to the hype. Harry Potter reminds me of those hormone-driven band kids in High School. Ron is a whiney punk, who needs to man up. Hermoine is a cutie though.

    Furthermore, I don’t like Harry’s taste in women either.
    Boooo!
    Sorry, @MichaelYoungHistory. %%

    P.S. I don’t like Twilight either. But I’ve watched it for the sake of mockery…and I was on a date.

    I’ll probably watch the last Potter Movies…..and Twilight Movies

     
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      November 16, 2010 at 2:04 PM

      %%% you bastard!!!

       
  3. thebigsocrates

    November 16, 2010 at 3:16 PM

    Um….. #POW! Lol.

     
  4. marie/mmlemony

    November 22, 2010 at 9:38 AM

    idk, i’ve always thought rupert grint was the best of the trio. the twins also came through in their performances in hp7.

    i agree on dobby,the cellar scene and the illustration of the deathly hallows.

    my gripe was the tone/mood of the film. it takes a lot more than changing filters. greyback’s character is down played on the actual danger he possesses. i would loved to have scene more of the darker aspects of the book on screen but understand it’s need for a pg 13 rating.

    plus, some of the editing, i felt, was choppy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
