RSS

Life as a Black Man…is a game?

16 Nov

Being a black man is not easy. Being a black man in America is like being taken to the best restaurant in town, but then being told that you have to order off of the kid’s menu. Ok…I’ll admit that my crazy simile probably didnt help you in your everlasting quest to verbalize what its like to be a black man in America. Maybe this will help?

Yes…you are looking at that right. This is the “Life as a Blackman” boardgame. I am STILL stunned from one random night this summer where I actually went to a black person’s house who had the game, sitting right between their Taboo and Scrabble. (Note: I am the ultimate Taboo champ. Ask about me…) I couldnt believe it. So, of course, morbid curiosity took over and I had to play it…

“Life as a Blackman” has everything you’d expect. You have the choice of either going to church or falling shamelessly into the occupation of “criminal.” You also have the choice to do things such as go to college (its frowned upon), go to the military, and choose whether to spend your money on pimpin’ out your ride or other “nigga shit.” Also, similar to the Community Chest and Chance cards in Monopoly, there are random cards titled “Police” and “Racism,” whose sole purpose is to impede your progress through life. (Ya know, like in real life…but racist cops are for another post).

This game is amazing. I think I’ll buy it to explain to my white friends what its like to be a black man, because saying “to be a black man in America is like a sexy girl inviting you over for sex, only to later reveal that she used to be a man” just doesnt get the point across like fake money with slaves printed on it.

“All this Racism is killin me inside!”

-MichaelYoungHistory

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Daily Distractions

 

11 responses to “Life as a Black Man…is a game?

  1. Spacely Sprockets

    November 16, 2010 at 12:33 AM

    Being a Black Man in America is like going to the Super Bowl but having to sit behind a concrete column.

     
  2. UGWU

    November 15, 2010 at 6:53 PM

    Lol @ literal race cards.

    P.S. You can’t fuck with me at Taboo, son!!

     
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      November 16, 2010 at 2:09 PM

      We’ll see about that this weekend bro. You got the game or do I need to bring a copy. Find a partner, bro!

       
  3. justinfication

    November 16, 2010 at 10:30 AM

    I love Chicken!!!!

    LOL @ Chappelle, I agree we as black men have our struggles.

    Hence, we joke about.
    Hence, we mock it.
    Hence, we make games about such.
    Hence, we make songs & movies about it.

    I’ll admit, I can’t relate to the typical experiences (declined loan, DWB, not allowed into Austin’s Pure nightclub) and I don’t dwell the differences either. I know this post was in jest, but our experiences will always be mocked.

    Even Barack Obama’s presidency is being mocked.
    If you pay real close attention, other cultures get mocked quite a bit too. (i.e. Native american is cool as dress up, but not Black face)

    However, as African-Americans, we have great influence on popular culture and media. Folks are quite aware of what offends us, almost, just as much as us. And the World loves the African-Diaspora. Folks around the world are infatuated with our culture.

    Sometimes we abuse it.
    Sometimes others abuse it.

    But that’s been the case since Amos & Andy.

    Regardless, I love what I irrevocably am.

     
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      November 16, 2010 at 10:51 AM

      That Wacka video is so messy!

      LMAO @ “Pure.” I really wanna throw eggs at them bro…

       
    • Spacely Sprockets

      November 16, 2010 at 12:06 PM

      I definitely planned on getting into an altercation with those Pure bouncers. “Oh I’m good but the person you clearly saw me walk up here with isn’t?” Basura

       
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      November 16, 2010 at 2:10 PM

      I just realized he put the WB frog hahahahah! Best comment ever. This is tricked out…

       
  4. MichaelYoungHistory

    November 16, 2010 at 5:02 PM

    Being a black man in America is like being invited to the NBA draft, only to be drafted by the Clippers…

     
  5. Chuck Sawyer

    July 23, 2012 at 6:19 PM

    Life As A Blackman the game is being released as an app for the iphone/ipad. You have to check it out, Sept 2012, the game is all about fun, as games should be, however it is very real and thought provoking.

     
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      July 23, 2012 at 7:40 PM

      wait, REALLY???

       
      • Chuck Sawyer

        July 23, 2012 at 7:53 PM

        Yes! it will be on Itunes in September, for $.99. The website will be up tonight with some screenshots from the app.

         

Leave a Reply

 
