RSS

Texting vs. Calling

16 Nov

So I was cruising bossip.com today (don’t judge me), and I ran across an article with women complaining about things men don’t do anymore. After sifting through several gripes, I ran across a simple one that I could actually understand.  This young lady simply said that men don’t call anymore.  Correction, ma’am. Men aren’t calling you.

Ladies, let me be real with you.  I can only speak for me, but I’m sure some of the fellas will agree with me here.  I have no problem talking on the phone.  As a matter a fact, if I can talk to you and hold a good conversation with you on the regular, chances are, you rank pretty high in my book.  I ONLY date women I can talk to on the phone and in person. The art of conversation is being lost daily in the age of texting, Facebook, and Twitter.  If I take you out, and you can’t hold a conversation with me, I doubt very seriously there will be a second.

One other thing…If you’re “talking” to a dude, and all the two of you do is text, Y’ALL AREN’T TALKING! If the extent of your interactions is texting and late-night creeps, Y’ALL AREN’T TALKING! Many guys have discovered that that’s all it takes to get in some females’ pants. Am I knocking that? No. All I’m saying is that if you’re a woman looking for a relationship or something meaningful, make him do more than text you and be at your crib by 1.

I’m generalizing here, but men like the chase.  I almost feel stupid for telling you this, but women make the dating rules. Men don’t have much choice but to go along with them if they are really after you and/or what you have to offer. And if it’s not worth it to him, he’ll leave you alone. If you want him to call you rather than text you, tell him…or here’s an idea. Call him and tell him that you actually want to hold a conversation. It’s up to you, ladies.

-23

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Relationships

 

8 responses to “Texting vs. Calling

  1. primemeridian11

    November 16, 2010 at 6:59 PM

    There are no hard fast rules. I respect a man who will call, but I actually prefer texting. Calling is proper in the beginning because it let’s me know that you are serious and actually want to engage me. However, after a few dates, texts are cool with me. Mostly because we shld only be texting to organize our next meeting anyway. Well that and the occasional complimentary flirting.

    “Women make the rules”. I don’t think I fully agree with this. Men are the chasers and they have an equal stake in the dating game. I think we have to be careful to not put it on women because honestly, men could just do what they know to be right. Saying that it is up to women gives the men a freebie when they have to do their part too. If a man chooses the easier route simply because it is available, he is divulging a lot about his character. When you know better. You do better. And that goes for both genders.

     
  2. realist23

    November 16, 2010 at 7:08 PM

    First off, I’m not knocking texts. They have their time and place. The problem arises when this is the sole means of communication. I have no problem with texting, but it can’t be everything.

    I guess we’ll disagree here, but I think women make the rules and men’s stake in the game is following them or not playing the game. This goes back to the great debate about women controlling how they’re treated. Sure, men could do what they know to be right and treat every woman like a queen, but truthfully, not every woman treats herself like a queen. I think men will treat a woman the way she demands to be treated (not always). That will be another post for another day, but I think the same rings true for this topic. Both parties have a stake in the dating game, though. I’ll agree with that.

     
  3. Spacely Sprockets

    November 16, 2010 at 7:08 PM

    I’m a texter. I don’t care if I’m dating the woman of my dreams, I want to text. I’ll talk but only because I have to. I’d much rather talk in person than over the phone and if that option isn’t available I’d much rather text so I can be productive. That’s just me I guess.

     
  4. WW

    November 16, 2010 at 7:35 PM

    Women only make the rules when weak men (lames) are involved.

    calling on the phone is actually an unnatural form of communication. not to mention the time it takes up. sure, if i like a girl i’ll talk on the phone with every once in awhile…. but for the most part texting is quicker, requires less effort and just overall easier…

     
    • realist23

      November 16, 2010 at 10:44 PM

      What you just said is the reason why communication is failing these days. In 3 lines, I read unnatural, taking up time, less effort, and easier. I see sheer laziness all over this. I’ll leave it at that.

      And rules have nothing to do with how strong or weak a man is. It’s about what he’s after…

       
  5. justinfication

    November 16, 2010 at 8:29 PM

    Every person has their own expectations.
    Damnit!
    Act Accordingly.
    Caking is fun!
    Poor communication is an age-old tale between male & female.

    I understand the arguments of etiquette, but most of my issues with someone spark when we’re face-to-face. At least when they don’t call, don’t text I can use my imagination a lil’ bit.

    Caking can be fun!

     
  6. MichaelYoungHistory

    November 16, 2010 at 8:55 PM

    I hate talking on the phone, but if she’s worth it, i’ll do it…

     
  7. sjbradley24

    November 16, 2010 at 9:01 PM

    I would much rather text than talk on the phone. I hate talking on the phone. Talking in person is great, though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
