RSS

The Possible Return of Daft Punk?

16 Nov

It was 2002 when I was first exposed to one of the best duos that would change my musical life in Daft Punk. Cartoon Network was showing the four music videos based on their breakout/standout album in Discovery. It was a very very unique sound. You weren’t exactly sure what the heck it was you were listening to or looking at. So then months went by before I actually came in contact with friends who actually knew of the duo would talk to me about them. This would eventually lead to my first listen of said Discovery album. If you’ve never actually listened to it, it’s a soulful techno sound if that makes any sense. It’s easily one of my top 10 all time albums. Every track had it’s own bit of magic to it and the album is timeless and doesn’t have a track you want to skip through. Anyway, I gave that long and drawn out explanation to say this…DAFT PUNK IS AMONG US AGAIN!!! The new Disney remake of Tron coming out in December, will have a soundtrack exclusively scored by Daft Punk. They have only been doing live shows the last few years and haven’t put any new material out since ’05. With an event like this I’ve found myself somewhat torn. On one hand, this new venture for them could mean that maybe we could see a new album sometime soon… But on the other hand, Discovery came out in 2001. Of their 3 albums, it’s by far the best and really the only album to refer people to. I’ve kind of moved on from the prospect of them rekindling that magic and I’ve moved on to other similar sounding groups. I’ve tried Justice and recently have fallen in love with Chromeo (Business Casual is their great new album). So I’m interested to see what the future holds for Daft Punk, but I just can’t keep hoping for that album to rival Discovery. Did I tell you to go and listen to Discovery yet?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Music

 

3 responses to “The Possible Return of Daft Punk?

  1. Spacely Sprockets

    November 16, 2010 at 1:38 AM

    Chromeo is the bees knees. I’m copping Discovery as we speak.

     
  2. thebigsocrates

    November 16, 2010 at 1:51 AM

    You’ve probably at least heard One More Time from them. That is just the beginning, my friend.

     
  3. MichaelYoungHistory

    November 15, 2010 at 8:35 PM

    Discovery might be one of my fave albums of all time. Good stuff bro.

    PS this movie is gonna be god awful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
