RSS

New Jack Swing

26 Nov

I’ve always been a fan of Hip Hop, but I haven’t joined the cult like the majority of the thread family. There’s always been something holding me back from fully indulging in the movement.

I belong to the “cult” of R&B … the genre with the smooth beat that’s about every type of love. “All you gotta do is say yes” , “Cause I’m all cried out over you” “Love is a house, and you’ve got the key” , “When a woman’s fed up, there ain’t nothing you can do about it”, “I only think of you on two occasions. That’s day and night”, “She said ‘how’d you like to waste some time,’ and I could not resist when I saw little Nikki grind”.

In my car, 5 out of the 6 CDs are R&B. The first CD I ever bought with my own money was Xscape’s Traces of My Lipstick. My iPod has at least 5 different playlist dedicated to a certain R&B mood: from Old School to Slow Jams (Volumes 1 and 2) to Girl Power Music. But by far, my favorite type of R&B is New Jack Swing!

If you don’t know what New Jack Swing is, it’s the great sounds of the late 80’s to mid 90’s R&B with an up-tempo swing beat under it. Here’s an example:

I love New Jack Swing so much that I couldn’t pick just one example!

New Jack Swing gets it’s life from groups like Tony, Toni, Tone`, Boys II Men, and BelBivDevo. Every New Jack Swing song lifts the beats of your heart, makes you pat your feet, and causes a smile to creep on your face. It’s that feel good music.

So to all the Hip Hop heads and victims to the current music culture, what do you do when “Poison” comes on? Let’s see:

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2010 in Music

 

3 responses to “New Jack Swing

  1. realist23

    November 27, 2010 at 7:23 PM

    I’m with you on this UTPipeline. There is nothing like R&B. Hip hop is cool, but R&B puts me in several special places and unforgettable phases of my life. Good stuff!

     
  2. Typo-Critical

    November 28, 2010 at 6:21 PM

    Man, this post brought back SO many memories. I literally bump “Can You Stand the Rain” and “Pretty Brown Eyes” once every week faithfully. The sound was just so distinctive that nothing, even in the modern day, compares. It’s a shame, in my opinion, that nothing really has come close since the 90s to replicating a “musical movement” like “New Jack Swing” (outside of maybe the Crunk/Snap era of 2000-2006… and even THAT isn’t nearly on par).

     

Leave a Reply

 
