RSS

Seductive Serenade: The Ultimate Grown & Sexy Playlist

07 Dec

So, on my post regarding raunchy R&B videos, I promised that I’d return with the ultimate grown and sexy mix for our thREADERS.  Well, I’m back “and I’ve come to release this info.”  I started off trying to make this a top-10 countdown list, but it was way too hard to narrow it down to just 10.  So, I got the elder statesman of the Thread, GinandCigars, to help me out, and we decided to expand it.  Not 10. Not 15. 20! XX! Veinte! Twenty songs!  Don’t say we didn’t do anything for our thREADERS.  Of course, we had to make some tough decisions, which included leaving some great songs off the list, but as always, we welcome your comments, opinions, additions, and subtractions.  Warning: Contents extremely hot!
**Disclaimer: We are not responsible for anything that transpires as a result of this playlist.  This includes, but is not limited to: broken glass, headboards, tables, lamps, dishes, and/or procreated children. -Management

1. Usher – “Can You Handle It?”
Favorite Line: “Can you handle it if I go there baby with you? / I can handle it; I can go there baby with you / Can you handle it? Can I go there baby with you / We gon’ set it off, we gon’ tear it up / Baby, can you handle?”
Why: Usher outdid himself on this one. As soon as you hear the beginning of this song, you go to a special place. Just make sure you can handle being there. Thank you, Usher.

2. Joi – “Lick”
Favorite Line: “It feels so good, I’m going crazy / My eyes roll back inside my head / Explore my inner walls of pleasure / And hold on tight; hope you ain’t scared”
Why: When I think back to parties during my college days, this song comes to mind. Not many other songs had the power to make everyone’s hormones race like this intoxicating track. As soon as the beat drops, you just hear that collective “ugh.” You feel that “ugh.” Add Joi’s sexy vocals, and you’ll want to [insert your favorite action verb here]. I was thinking “dance”, you freaks! Or “lick” like the song says…

3. 112 – “Sweet Love”
Favorite Line: “Girl, the tears you cry are out of happiness / Pleasure instead of loneliness / Baby, every single part of me inside of you / Pleasing you, pleasing you, make you scream louder”
Why: While explicit, it paints the picture of what will occur as the chorus states it will be “sweet love, all night long, until the rising of the sun.”

4. Art of Noise – “Moments in Love (Slow Mix)”
Favorite Line: Since this song is 95% instrumental and 100% masterpiece, there is no need for words.
Why: This song just might be the most sensual/sexual/euphoric song in my entire music collection. While the original is great, I find the “slow mix” version to be amazing. The mysterious beat, the instrumental buildup, and the saxophone solo all come together to create 7 minutes of pure bliss.

5. Floetry – “Say Yes”
Favorite Line: “See, I been watching you for a while / Your smile and style / And I just wanna know if I could be with you for the night, alright? / Is that alright, baby?”
Why: This is one of the few songs out there where the female approaches the male. It doesn’t come off as a plea for desperation. Ambrosius took the lead on this track, and everything else followed suit. Also, the instrumentals are damn electrifying and create one hell of a mood. Her, ahem, moans at the end of the song are enough to send a shockwave through your speakers. Say yes, fellas, and then proceed.

6. Quincy Jones featuring Barry White, James Ingram, El DeBarge & Al B. Sure – “The Secret Garden”
Favorite Line: “I know a melody that we could sing together / I’ve got the secret key to you, baby / Let’s make music; harmonizin’ ecstasy (Come on, come on, come on, come on) / Come on, sing it to me”
Why: I’m sure some of us are probably alive and breathing because of this song. Quincy brought some heavy hitters for this one, and they came together to create this timeless classic. It doesn’t get much better than this.

7. Maxwell – “Mellosmoothe: Sumthin’ Sumthin’”
Favorite Line: “So if it’s cool / I wanna rock with you / Slip you my mellosmoothe / Rock you until you’re blue”
Why: It’s Maxwell. If that’s not enough, just let any woman listen to him croon and hit those falsetto notes, and watch (or experience) its effect. For those of you who have seen Love Jones, you know the power that this song has.

8. R. Kelly – “Imagine That”
Favorite Line: “Imagine that I’m kissing you from feet to head / It’s you and me in our bed / Scream it, baby! Say my name! Say my name! Say my name! Say my name! Say my name!”
Why: You can’t have a grown and sexy mix without R. Kelly. We all know about “Bump ‘N Grind”, “12 Play”, “Down Low”, “Half on a Baby”, etc., but I implore you to add this libido-raiser to your mix. The last two minutes and nine seconds will make you lose all control. Thank me later.

9. Trey Songz – “Scratchin’ Me Up”
Favorite Line(s): “[Pullin’ on] the sheets, the pillows, the dresser, the covers, the mattress / Sexin’ you be scratchin’ me up” and “Scratch my body up, I don’t mind / I’ma take your pain, if you take mine”
Why: Just listen to it; the song speaks for itself.  Trey Songz has been making a name for himself these past few years, and he doesn’t disappoint with this ode to sharp nails. It absolutely oozes sex.

10. Boyz II Men – “Uhh, Ahh” (the original AND the sequel)
Favorite Line(s): “10. 9. 8. 7. 6, 5. 4, 3…2…..1 (injection)” and “Squeezing you tight and holding you close is all I feel inside / Although, I try to hold in my love, it’s something that I just can’t hide”
Why: Talk about a 90’s throwback and sleeper. I can definitely appreciate this song more now than I did at 13. This should ALWAYS remain in the rotation. Also, the sequel adds a little more seduction to the track with the slow melodic groove. Check it out if you haven’t.

11. Ne-Yo – “Mirror”
Favorite Line: “If you know anything about me by now, you know I’m a freak / Just follow my lead”
Why: You know those songs that make you look at someone or something differently? Yeah, this is one of those songs. I will never look at a mirror the same way again. This song had lovers everywhere rearranging their bedroom furniture.

12. Tevin Campbell – “Shhh (Break It Down)”
Favorite Line: “I’d rather wait ‘til everyone’s fast asleep then do it in the kitchen on the tabletop (ooh!)”
Why: When I think of Tevin Campbell, I usually think of him singing “Happy Birthday” to Ashley on Fresh Prince. This song, however, is a far cry from such youthful innocence. He paints a very erotic picture complete with candles, a private affair, and some rather orgasmic sounds at the end. It scored a place on our list.

13. The Isley Brothers – “Between The Sheets”
Favorite Line: “Hey girl, what’s your fantasy? / I’ll take you there to that ecstacy / Ooh girl, you blow my mind; I’ll always be your freak / Let’s make sweet love, between the sheets”
Why: You can’t have a grown and sexy mix without Mr. Isley either…period. This song is to the point and creates THE mood. We couldn’t overlook this baby-maker.

14. Jill Scott – “Crown Royal”
Favorite Line: “Your hands on my hips, pull me right back to you / I catch that thrust, give it right back to you / You’re in so deep, I’m breathin’ for you / You grab my braids / Arch my back high for you”
Why: Here is another one of those songs that makes you look at something differently. I can’t even have a Crown & Coke without this song popping into my head. Jilly from Philly is in rare form here, and she holds nothing back! It’s only a minute and 48 seconds, but that’s all it takes. Fire!

15. D’Angelo – “Untitled (How Does It Feel?)”
Favorite Line(s): “Baby close the door / Listen girl I have something I wanna show you / I wish you’d open up ‘cause I wanna take the walls down with you”
Why: We shouldn’t even have to explain this one. Women appreciated the video; men respected the lyrics. Everyone appreciated the song.

16. LSG – “My Body”
Favorite Line: “Wanna fill you up ’til your river flows all over me / Wanna feel your precious treasure wrapped around me oh so tightly”
Why: Levert. Sweat. Gill. Need I say more? Smooth groove to wind and grind to. My body all over your body. Your body all over my body. What else is there to say?

17. Silk – “Freak Me”
Favorite Line: “I wanna make your body drip / C’mon let me take a sip”
Why: I remember singing this song when I was just a young buck and didn’t know what the hell I was singing about. Of course, my dad overheard me and made me stop. When I got older and realized what it meant, I understood why. The flames will need to be extinguished after listening to this classic. This is the 90’s at its best.

18. Teddy Pendergrass – “Turn Off the Lights”
Favorite Line: “Turn ’em off and come to me / Tonight, I’m in a sexy mood, baby / And light a candle /
Girl, there’s something that I-I wanna do to you, I wanna do, I wanna do to you, baby”
Why: Lights off. Candle lit. A shower. Burning hot oils. I’m going to stop right there. Did you think we would have a grown and sexy mix and not put Teddy P on it? This entire list would be null without this man. He starts off by setting the mood (“Turns off the lights”). Then asking questions (“Would you mind if I asked you to…rub me down”). Then he makes demands (“Come get what you need, give me what I need”). Follow his instructions; Teddy P won’t steer you wrong. “Turn ‘em off!”

19. Me’Shell Ndegéocello/Marsha Ambrosius – “Trust (Inside Me)”
Favorite Line: “Lay me down, spread my legs / Mmm, tell me what’s it like / Inside me”
Why: If you can’t tell, we like instructive songs here.  We like songs that need little explanation.  We like songs like this. Me’Shell Ndegéocello originally lit the fuse with “Trust”.  Then Marsha Ambrosius came and absolutely blew that fuse.  Sensory overload will likely ensue as a result of this. You’ve been warned.

20. The Transitions – “Straight F***in’”
Favorite Line: “Tonight is the occasion lady that is so special like a holiday, a holiday / See I’m tired of explaining, baby; there’s nothing left to say”
Why: I don’t know what to say. This song is something else. The title alone just lets you know that you are in for it. Careful with your ears; the heat radiating from this song may scorch your eardrums.

Bonus Track: Janet Jackson – “Anytime, Anyplace”
Favorite Line: “”Strangers all around with the lights down low / I was thinking maybe we could, well, you know”
Why: We couldn’t leave Damita Jo off of this list, so we made a special place for her. Janet’s inner freak came out to play for this one. Any time? Any place? In public? Yeah, little Penny isn’t a girl anymore. She’s a bona-fide woman with grown woman wants and desires. Handle with care.

I guess we lied. We gave you 21.  -Andrew Lilly & Nick Gatlin

Follow us and the rest of the Threaders on Twitter: @TheThreadBlog

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2010 in Countdown, Music, Sex, Social Life

 

9 responses to “Seductive Serenade: The Ultimate Grown & Sexy Playlist

  1. Megan

    December 7, 2010 at 6:32 PM

    lovin it already!

     
  2. Raph

    December 17, 2010 at 10:54 AM

    i like the list with one gripe…ll cool j ‘doin it’???

    while it may have been intended to be sexy it has become such a shared cultural joke that i think a girl would laugh and it would ruin the moment, kind of like “ignition (remix)” would IMO…

    just started taken a look at the site looks cool!

     
    • realist23

      December 17, 2010 at 3:19 PM

      Thanks for the feedback, Raph. Like we said in the post, “Doin’ It” was certainly a curveball on a mix almost entirely made up of R&B, but it’s still got a nice groove and the lyrics are a nice, raunchy change of pace we felt. Glad that you were feelin’ the other songs, though. Lots of thought went into this mix. What would you add instead?

       
  3. computer running slow

    February 2, 2011 at 4:50 PM

    A thoughtful insight into Seductive Serenade: The Ultimate Grown & Sexy Playlist The Thread and suggestions I will employ in my blog. You’ve undoubtedly spent some time about this. Fantastic!

     
    • realist23

      February 15, 2011 at 1:49 PM

      Thanks for the support.

       
  4. Kristopher

    June 2, 2013 at 1:51 PM

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this
    site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

     
  5. Delphine Baker

    July 2, 2014 at 4:19 AM

    You could add Red Light Special by TLC

     

Leave a Reply

 
