RSS

Why Are We Making Teen Moms Celebrities?!?!?

24 Dec

I may get some flack for this, and I’m fine with that.  This is a blog, so if you disagree with me, by all means, leave a comment.  Many of you remember some of my sentiments concerning the young pregnancy issue from a previous post.  I am a single, childless, black male, so “Teen Mom” and “16 and Pregnant” don’t really pertain to my demographic.  I do watch quite a bit of MTV, though (I miss when they played music videos during the day and not obscure hours of the night).  The fact that “16 and Pregnant” and its spin-off “Teen Mom” are successful shows is enough to make me want to throw up (not from morning sickness, either).  Are we glorifying this?  Why are these girls making the covers of magazines? Is it cool to get pregnant now when you don’t even have a high school diploma yet?

I don’t even want to get into the baby-daddy issues we are presented with on the regular because that is sickening, too.  When I was in high school (damn, that makes me feel old), the girls who got pregnant were cast into the abyss.  Granted, I went to a suburban school where our biggest concerns were where the keg party was going to be, who we were going to ask to Homecoming, and where we wanted to go to college.  So, when I read that some teenagers are intentionally getting pregnant in hopes of scoring a spot on MTV, I just about lost it.  Are you kidding me?  What does this say about our society that people are this desperate to get on TV?  I don’t want to completely bash all of MTV’s reality shows because I think “True Life” really does paint an honest and gritty look into some hardships that people go through.  I’m not convinced when it comes to “16 and Pregnant” and “Teen Mom”, though.  The title, “Teen Mom”, doesn’t even sit well with me.  What about teen parents?  I digress.  That’s another blog topic for another day.

The cast from the first season was already pregnant when MTV entered the picture.  No problem.  However, now it seems as though teens are lining up to hit pay dirt (right around $60,000 I’ve read).  At what point does this stop being a reality show and start becoming a new and twisted form of prostitution?  I understand that MTV may not directly be to blame because the tabloids and magazines are the ones putting these girls on their covers.  Somehow, it needs to be further emphasized that this isn’t the lifestyle that you want at 16.  Sure, the privileged few who make the show will make some money, but that number is very small.  After that stupid pact that some high school girls made a few years ago that Lifetime ran with, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised by what goes on in some of these children’s minds.
-23
 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2010 in Sex, Television

 

9 responses to “Why Are We Making Teen Moms Celebrities?!?!?

  1. jonolan

    December 24, 2010 at 5:45 PM

    It’s an attempt to remove the stigma of teen pregnancy based upon a misguided corruption of the whole anti-racism movement? Crazy, but it would explain why the preggos are normally White and at least middle class as opposed to ghetto and Black, who make up the majority of pregnant teens in America…

    That’s only half sarcasm. With MTV’s slide into the Rap / Hip-Hop community and America’s ridiculous levels of “multiculturalism” and political correctness, it’s almost plausible

     
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      December 25, 2010 at 10:21 PM

      LOL I would have never thought about it like this! But, it may be having this effect…all the ones I’ve seen involve white people…

       
    • Chad Stanton

      December 25, 2010 at 10:31 PM

      I don’t think it has anything to do with race, multiculturalism, or political correctness and its kind of odd that you took it there. How did MTV “slide” into the “Rap/Hip Hop” community and whats ridiculous about America’s “multiculturalism”?

       
      • jonolan

        December 26, 2010 at 8:45 AM

        I doubt that you could understand the answers to those questions, Chad, but I’ll try to explain them anyway.

        Firstly, my comment was more than half sarcasm.

        Yet, political correctness demands that poor behavior is not lambasted and such shows as these might be an attempt to paint teen pregnancy and unwed mothers – bay mammas – as far less shameful and unacceptable than would be best for our society.

        Much of that, if it is the basis of this phenomenon, probably stems from some bullshit idea of now clearly stating that the Black proclivity for breeding bastards should not be condemned. That, in turn, is because the foolish Liberals believe in multiculturalism and think that the Black “Community’s” culture is valid and equal to that of American culture.

        As for MTV – you’re probably too young to understand my opinion of it. I remember when it actually had music and wasn’t caught up in the hip-hop culture (as opposed to music) that it is now.

         
        • Chad Stanton

          December 26, 2010 at 7:55 PM

          Sarcasm or no what you state has some serious logistical holes in it. How is it political correctness to go from running pregnant teens out of town to them having a show on MTV? When did MTV become a bastion of political correctness? Was it before our after the show about “guidos”? Also I had no idea that black people invented the practice of having children out of wedlock, call Tom Brady and make sure he knows. I’m also surprised to learn that the Black “community” isn’t a part of “American culture”, which consists of what exactly? Rock? That was invented by black people. Another revelation that you’ve given me from on high is that Hip Hop isn’t music. Imagine my shock, I must be missing all these hip hop culture shows that are now airing on MTV.

          In short you’re a dumbass who probably reads Stormfront and talks out his ass on the internet while cutting himself and cursing at his co-workers at Costco.

           
          • MYH

            December 26, 2010 at 11:51 PM

            Great Tom Brady dig. Fuck that guy

             
  2. MichaelYoungHistory

    December 25, 2010 at 10:22 PM

    You can say the same about the Maury show…those people get pretty good money to go on their and embarrass our culture

    Good stuff bro

     
  3. primemeridian11

    December 26, 2010 at 11:25 PM

    Really, Dr. Drew and Morgan Freeman made the show to try to reduce the numbers of teen moms. They wanted to shed light on how difficult it was to actually be a Teen Mom, so that teenagers would think twice about unprotected sex. Now, of course MTV and Viacom are only after the money and the crazy teens in our country have turned it into smthg it was never meant to be. If people saw the message behind it instead of the drop-in-a-bucket, kid-still-wont-have-a-college-fund, dollar signs, it would actually be a good, effective show.

     

Leave a Reply

 
