RSS

Going Native

05 Jan

So I’ve recently moved back to Austin and I’ve promised myself I’ll do all the things I missed out on last time I was here. for school and I complained almost endlessly about seeing the same folks. But I never did anything different. All too often I hear people complaining about how they hate where they stay but they do nothing but sit in the house all day.

All too often we as a people don’t lack intelligence but perspective. We confine ourselves to our section of our neighborhood in our city. We wonder why kids aren’t going to college? They lack the knowledge of the greater world outside their own neighborhood. Check your newspaper local listings, or blogs that promote the events of your town and find the ones you can afford and get exposed to some other cultures. Do different and interesting things that build a sense of curiosity of the world. Through little acts like going to a museum every now and again, catching a play, or helping a charity your viewpoint is vastly expanded.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 5, 2011 in Philosophy, Social Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Going Native

  1. MichaelYoungHistory

    January 6, 2011 at 9:08 AM

    I’m so ready to be back in Austin…I’m gonna have a great year there. One more farewell tour…

     

Leave a Reply

 
