RSS

It’s Time

14 Jan

This
video compelled me to blog on an issue I’ve been meaning to address
for a few weeks now. It’s time for us as a community and a
society to face and accept the reality that is homosexuality.
It is nothing new and far from a foreign concept. Shout out
to Marsha Ambrosius. If you’re not familiar with her music,
you’re missing out.

First off, I must applaud Congress and the President for
finally repealing “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”. As far as I’m
concerned, this is just the latest social change that the military
has made in its slow maturation process. First, they realized
that black men could take bullets and bleed red just as well as
their white, pigmentally-challenged counterparts. Then, they
realized that they needed women to help with efforts as well.
At last, they realized that they need all hands on deck to fight
two wars and finally came around to let openly gay people
serve. A friend of the thread said, “”We use you when we need
you,” and that really hit home with me. I respect and praise
this repeal, but I question its timing. Time to bring this closer
to home. Black people. It’s time. I realize that
all of us run for the Bible and start spitting verses like word
vomit at the mere mention of homosexuality. Personally, I’ve
come a long way when it comes to my thoughts on the subject.
I’ve grown accept it. I don’t identify with it, but I don’t
believe anyone has the right to stand in the way of anyone else’s
freedom or happiness when it doesn’t infringe on someone
else’s. The scene in the video where the young man is getting
jumped really stood out to me because I know it happens. I’ve
read too many articles and heard too many stories of gays being
hurt, beaten, and/or killed because of their sexuality. It’s
got to stop. It’s 2011, people. Now, if you’re a
super-duper Christian who loathes homosexuality and those who
identify with it, that’s between you and God. I serve the
same God who commands us to love one another. It’s not our
place to judge. I think it’s Bob Marley who said, “” Before
you start pointing fingers, make sure your hands are clean.” I’d
love to entertain your thoughts, though. If you agree with me
let us know, if you disagree let us know. After all, that’s
what the #ThreadBlog is for. -23

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2011 in Government, Philosophy

 

3 responses to “It’s Time

  1. Typo-Critical

    January 14, 2011 at 10:25 AM

    “But can’t you just try… not being a mutant?” – Iceman’s mother in X-2: X-Men United

    Hmm. I agree with what’s said. I guess what most bothers me is that so many people often believe that homosexuality is “detrimental” to the Black community. I touched on this briefly in one of my stories (shameless plug for Kandy Reign ), but in my own humble opinion, those who identify as gay really should not affect the progress of life for others. It especially bothers me that so much violence and hate crime is associated with gays. Okay, I get it, people fear what they don’t understand. But do you really think you can – for lack of a better term – “beat the gayness out of them”? That’s pure idiocy and ignorance. Not to mention, when those close to you see your violence towards gays… if THEY’RE gay, then they may feel scared “back into the closet” because, if you did that to someone you didn’t know… what would you do to someone you did?

    To get on a road to collective progress, especially in terms of the Black community, we have to reach a point where gays are considered a part of the community. I hate to pull the “laundry list,” but Bayard Rustin, Audre Lorde, and James Baldwin are just a few of the Black gays who have more than contributed to (African) American history without setting the community back at all. We all have that member of the family who we misunderstand; we may not understand that family member, but we should still respect them. I believe the same approach is necessary for Blacks when it comes to those who identify as gay.

     
  2. MichaelYoungHistory

    January 14, 2011 at 11:56 AM

    This was so well done! Nice and simple, yet poignant and strong. Great points you made here.

     
  3. justinfication

    January 14, 2011 at 11:59 AM

    The bigger issue to me seems more on how to properly judge what you feel is wrong.

    Homosexuality is the subject here. But to me, this issues relates to many of the issues in this country that are centered around personal ideologies.

    I usually approach a situation as this:
    1. Do you feel it’s wrong?
    2. Why to you feel it’s wrong? What’s the basis of what you believe is wrong? [biblical, principle, science, etc.]
    3. What , if anything, am I going to do about it?

    As Christians, I feel we are called and encouraged in some sense to “judge”…or in other words, “be accountable to one another”. “Iron sharpens Iron”. Sure any ideal response to any situation would begin with prayer/divine intervention — but this is the story of the world. Despite my common phase, “Don’t judge me”, I strongly believe in accountability from others, if based in what I believe in. The way I would hold accountable a son or brother or close friend on homosexuality, is different then how I would others.

    [if you would allow me to share at least one Biblical reference/example] I’d like to call out a particular story where disciplines, John & James asked Jesus if he would strike down a village that did not welcome him. James & John, who were brothers, were known as the Sons of Thunder because they were passionate and aggressive. Jesus rebuked John & James for this.

    I say that to say that I’m not an activist on this matter, but my convictions are solid.

    I accept the presence of many things that I don’t agree with. Most people don’t go to the extreme of killing those who identify with what they agree. Most people just “judge”, which I recognize isn’t “showing love” most of the time.

    Also, I’d like to go on record to say that despite the similarities, the Civil Rights Movement is not parellel to this movement.

    If folks would “love” as they “judge”, this world would be a better place.

    I’m not the final judge but I have the calling and liberty to determine what I feel is right or wrong. Of course it isn’t me who determines their salvation for I have sins to account for.

    I accept that homosexuality exist. But I don’t endorse it. I bet most gays couldn’t care less about my approval/opinion, but don’t expect me to say it’s ok.

    “Is it discriminatory against homosexuals if I don’t agree with them being homosexual?”
    Probably. But that’s a “risk” I’m willing to take and defend with my convictions.

     

Leave a Reply

 
