RSS

Black (people) + Twitter = Bitter (people)

21 Jan

I ran across this article today, and I couldn’t help but be disturbed. For those who are on Twitter (we are, too. @TheThreadBlog #shamelessplug #hashtagabuse), it will be nothing new. Click your mouse if you can tell when black people start trending topics. Click it again if you notice that they are often negative, sexually charged, or bashing the opposite sex. You can read the article here.


Highlights (or lowlights) from the article:
-Black people make up 25% of Twitter’s 17 million person population
-Many trending topics on a typical day are reflective of black culture and topics
-The most popular trend one day last week was #hoodhoes; for 16 hours, users tweeted their definitions of a “hood hoe”
-Not all hashtags are negative (example: #thegame), which dominated Twitter last week.

Okay, that’s enough. I know about these hashtags all too well, and I find many of them to be stupid and a total waste of time. I just love the people who can’t even spell, but spend hours on a trending topic berating the opposite sex. Why are we so negative? Did your ex hurt you that bad? I realize that I’m probably stepping on some people’s toes. Before you get too mad at me, know that I’ve participated in some trending topics. They’re great for BET Awards shows and other events that seem to attract the black masses and their opinions. I draw the line when it comes to #hoodhoes, #youresinglebecause, #thatswhyyourmanleftyou, and anything similar. Sheesh. Some people’s bitterness and heartbreak just oozes from my computer screen. As a paranoid tweeter, I try my best not to hurt, embarrass, or offend anyone with my tweets. I realize people use Twitter for different purposes, and if you like participating in twitter topics, have at it (my timeline wouldn’t be nearly as entertaining without you…for better or worse). Here’s some advice from a wise tweeter (not me): If you’re over the age of 21, protect your tweets. Anybody and everybody (employers) shouldn’t be able to follow you and/or see your tweets. You are trying to get hired one day.

I’m not the Twitter police nor do I care to be, but these negative trends are worth noting. People, we have so much power with our tweets and have a great platform to express our thoughts and opinions. Perhaps we should stop trying to cut each other down and lift ourselves (our people) up more. This cyber civil war we keep waging on each other doesn’t help.

-23

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Philosophy, Random, Social Life

 

5 responses to “Black (people) + Twitter = Bitter (people)

  1. Typo-Critical

    January 21, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    The Thread Blog endorses and encourages responsible tweeting. I definitely go in on certain trending topics but, in the interest of those who follow me AND know me, I also realize there are certain things that you just don’t say, especially in a public forum. and like you said, if you MUST, protect your profile. Not everyone needs to see you giving more ammo to a stereotype we’re still trying to break or discourage.

     
  2. Question Everything

    January 21, 2011 at 9:35 AM

    I get the sense that we are conditioned to what I call “deficit thinking.” It is almost as if we thrive on the negative or perhaps are “at home” when we are most negative. Social media affords people the opportunity to be competitive in just how negative they can be. So someone sees a negative post and in typical black fashion, we try to outdo one another.

    JMO, but I think that is why it is so pervasive.

    Two other quick points… I think like most people in social media avenues, we try to be EXTRA. When you can put something out there and the only push back is over these internets… Most people can handle that as opposed to someone checkin’ you in person. 2nd quick point is as a community, the deprivation healthy ways to express ourselves is exacerbated by our dependence on social media as a form of expression… in the absence of cultural standards of excellence.

    #thatisall <—- LOL

     
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      January 21, 2011 at 10:01 AM

      Great post. Nice reply!!! #thatisall

       
  3. justinfication

    January 21, 2011 at 11:45 AM

    Enough said. LOL

    I like this title!

     

Leave a Reply

 
