RSS

Some Heated, LASER-Guided Words for Lupe Fiasco

04 Feb

Disclaimer: I am a huge Lupe Fiasco fan.  In this day and age of no-talent rappers getting record deals and radio airplay, Lupe is a shining star. He is one of the few rappers who captures me intellectually with his flow and lyricism.  “Lupe Fiasco’s Food & Liquor” and “The Cool” remain two of my favorite albums to this day.

Now that I got that out of the way, I have a serious bone to pick with Lupe Fiasco.  As many of you know, his new album, LASERS, drops next month and features a song called “Words I Never Said”.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btQKGvVRnZ8

One line in particular caught me off guard and completely threw off everything I thought I knew about Wasalu Muhammad Jaco (government name):

“Limbaugh was a racist, Glen Beck is a racist,
Ghaza strip was gettin bombed but Obama didn’t say shit
That’s why I didn’t vote for him, next one either…”

Without getting too political, I have a few words for Lupe. Shut the [hell] up!  I’ve seen him in concert a good four times now, and I’ve enjoyed every one of his performances.  The last time I saw him was at UT-Arlington right before the 2008 Election.  I specifically remember him rallying the crowd in support of Obama.  He also mentioned that voting for the man was a vote for freedom.  Now, he comes out and gloats about not voting for him??? What did I miss? Was he just hopping on the Obama bandwagon so he could boost his record sales?  I’m not even going to get on my soapbox about how I feel about people, specifically black people, not exercising their right to vote.  We’ve all heard it time and time again.  I have a problem with Lupe’s hypocrisy.  Yeah, this is scathing, but I expect more from him.  I’m just going to say this and say nothing more about it.  When you give up your right to vote, you’re giving up your right to complain.  If you have a problem with Obama, Congress, or your mayor, vote against him or her next time.  If you’re sitting on the sideline and not participating in the political process, your opinion doesn’t matter. So sit your ass back down on the bench, Lupe.

LASERS drops March 8. I just decided that I’m downloading it rather than purchasing it.

-23

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2011 in Government, Music, Philosophy, Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Some Heated, LASER-Guided Words for Lupe Fiasco

  1. MYH

    February 5, 2011 at 1:51 PM

    Lol @ that last line hahahahha

     
  2. heartburn no more book review

    May 17, 2013 at 4:07 AM

    Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or
    did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours
    with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump
    out. Please let me know where you got your design.

    Kudos

     
  3. nikola tesla generator coil secret blueprints

    May 24, 2013 at 1:06 AM

    I’ve gone ahead and added a hyperlink back to your internet site from one of my clientele requesting it. I’ve used your website
    URL: https://threaders.wordpress.com/2011/02/04/some-heated-laser-guided-words-for-lupe-fiasco/ and blog
    title: Some Heated, LASER-Guided Words for Lupe Fiasco | The Thread to make sure you
    get the proper anchor text. If you woud like to check out where your link has been placed, please
    e-mail me at: jamieweeks@gmail.com. Many thanks

     
  4. acne no more kit review

    June 15, 2013 at 12:33 AM

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us
    so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and superb style and design.

     

Leave a Reply

 
