RSS

I Regret Nothing

19 Feb

I’m going to step off my beaten path for a minute if you don’t mind.  I’ve grown downright fond of this blog that we’ve got going.  I thank those of you who stop by religiously, sparingly, or curiously.  With that, I figure it’s time for me to open up just a bit.  No, it’s nothing sexual or overly emotional.  It’s simply one of my mantras in life.  It may seem cliche to you, but it really is a way of life for me.  So many people struggle with regrets.  Things they should’ve done.  Things they shouldn’t have done.  Things they’d take back if they could.  Things they’d do differently if they could.  I don’t.  I’m not a cold person at all.  I’m just a grateful person.  I don’t believe in regrets.  I realize that I’m blessed to be able to say that because there are people who genuinely have regrets.  There are people who take them to the grave.  I’m fortunate enough to say that I’m at a place in life where I can genuinely say that I don’t have any.  I think life has somewhat of a “butterfly effect”.  If I went back and changed one thing that I did wrong, I fear that it would throw off everything.  I’ve learned to take the good with the bad.  Even when I look back at some of the darkest days of my life; I’m thankful I got to experience them, live through them, and learn through them.  That’s the important part of not having regrets. You must learn from your mistakes and use them as learning experiences.  I’ll just leave you with this poem that I wrote not too long ago.  This is my first time sharing my poetry on here, but I figured it was appropriate just this once.  “Now, keep in mind that I’m an artist. And I’m sensitive about my…” Just jokes, folks.  I give you me.

Nihil Me Paenitet (I Regret Nothing)

Never have I wanted to change the past.
I only seek to learn from past mistakes.
Humility has become my ally.
I strive to persevere and continue moving forward.
Life has smiled on me in light of the wrong I’ve done.

My redemption rests in the arms of forgiveness and correction.
Experience is the best teacher, and I learn new lessons daily.

Pain I have caused is pain that I carry.
And the pain I’ve been dealt is pain that heals.
Every decision I have made has led me to this place in life.
Negative thoughts have been purged from my mind.
I accept what I deserve and thankfully continue on my journey.
Trials have made me stronger.
Errors and faults have made me better.
The story of my life has made me the man I am.

I regret nothing.

-23

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2011 in Philosophy

 

3 responses to “I Regret Nothing

  1. justinfication

    February 21, 2011 at 7:09 AM

    I regret plenty.

    Perhaps “regret” implies the context of ‘dwelling on the past’ and ‘not moving on’. But I believe there is a constructive way to ‘regret’. Maybe there’s a better word.

    Perhaps it’s a matter of context, but many lessons come from many mistakes; which can be ‘regretted’.

     
  2. MichaelYoungHistory

    February 21, 2011 at 7:18 AM

    I also regret plenty. I live and I learn, but there are definitely some things I’d like to do over.

     

Leave a Reply

 
