RSS

My Fellow Americans

31 Mar

Many people have asked me why I’ve decided to form an exploratory committee for the Republican Presidential Nomination even though I’m a 23-year-old liberal with no money, no political connections, and no chance of winning. Well America it is because I have a big heart. At this time I think the Republicans could use a serious candidate in their race.

Here I will lay out, in earnest, what my conservative vision of America would be if I were to win the nomination as your Republican representative in the Presidential race. I will present my platform with explanations for each plank which use solutions that are conservative in nature.

Domestic

Debt and the Budget

The first thing I would do is lead Congress to simplify the tax code, eliminating all reductions and having them restored to the equal level of taxation we had under Reagan. If you have a debt burden you must find ways to increase your revenue. If the country as a whole is in debt then the country as a whole must do its job to reduce its burden.

Second I would alter Obama‘s Healthcare Reform law replacing the individual mandate with a tax for uninsured care for those Americans who decide not to have healthcare. Obama’s Healthcare Reform law reduces future debt and the tax for the uninsured is more conservative than an individual mandate.

Third, I would lead America to overhaul our current criminal justice system that is at the moment dominated with special interests and waste. I would look at innovative and more efficient methods of rehabilitation because America is at its strongest when we have productive citizens improving society.  We are incarcerating citizens and breaking up families at an alarming rate. I would re-examine our current War on Drugs we are spending billions of dollars and incarcerated millions while having negligible results with curbing drug use.

I would invest government dollars into research for alternative energy and an infrastructure to support it. For too long our  economy has depended on foreign held energy. We must become a self-sufficient nation and free our fate from the tumultuous Middle East, while the recent push for democracy is heartening we must always stay aware that the will of the people will act in the people’s best interest and that may not always be the same as America’s.

On Immigration I would provide a path to citizenship for immigrants who have no criminal records, and who are gainfully employed or actively looking for work. We cannot feasibly deport every immigrant in America and we can not in good conscience maintain a permanent underclass of people without rights. With the path to citizenship we insure that these people enter into the American pact with the advantages, rights and protections we give and the productivity and taxes they give to help pay for them.

Here is my vision for America. If I were to win the nomination for Republican Presidential nomination this is the domestic agenda I would enact. Good day and God Bless America.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in Government, Philosophy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My Fellow Americans

  1. facecurtainista

    April 1, 2011 at 5:19 PM

    1. Does the path to citizenship count for everyone currently here, or for anyone in the future planning to cross our borders?

    2. Love the handle on debt. Your thought on the whole Planned Parenthood situation?

    3. I’m an independent that leans conservatively with regard to finance but liberally in terms of tricky topics like abortion and gay marriage/domestic partnership rights (I have no issue with either as neither are in my future, and I let grown people handle theirs). How would you appeal to a voter with my views?

     
    • Chad Stanton

      April 2, 2011 at 8:19 AM

      It would include anyone currently here in the nation and be coupled with the continued increase of border security in order to better insure we are encouraging people to follow our laws as much as possible.

      I think the effort to defund Planned Parenthood is a distraction from the hard and tough work that needs to be done in order to have a substantial impact on future debt.

      I’m naturally positioned as a liberal who in this campiagn would argue for conservative fiscal policy to be characterized as a somewhat moderate libertarian, I’ll keep the government out of your wallet and bedroom.

       
  2. MichaelYoungHistory

    April 5, 2011 at 11:45 AM

    Lower those gas prices. If so, you have my vote…

     

Leave a Reply

 
