RSS

Are HBCU Grads Outdoing Non-HBCU Grads?

19 Apr

To preface primemeridian and I’s post asking if college is really worth it (please post it so I don’t look stupid) dropping soon, I thought I’d kick start the college discussion with an interesting article I stumbled across.  You can read it here.

According to a study done by Howard University and Morehouse College, HBCU (Historically Black Colleges and Universities) graduates do better financially than their black counterparts who graduate from traditionally white colleges and universities.  I found this interesting, but I can’t say that I’m overly surprised.  When many companies feel the need to add some color to their workforces, they look no further than an HBCU.  I don’t blame them either because HBCU’s are obvious hotbeds for black graduates.  I wish I would’ve seen more companies reach out to my school for black graduates while I was in undergrad, but why would they?  The semester I graduated, I think we had about 30-35 black graduates.  That seems bleak when you see that my alma mater has an enrollment of over 50,000 students.

This isn’t a PWI vs. HBCU debate, though, because both serve their purposes for black students.  My grandmother graduated from Prairie View A&M, and I stand on her shoulders, so I find the argument to be asinine.  Without our grandparents and ancestors being forced to create and attend their own colleges and universities, our generation wouldn’t be afforded the option of attending a PWI or HBCU.  It’s time for us to stop this rivalry between historically black schools and predominately white schools.  It’s nice to see a statistic reflecting the successes of black students.  I salute you all.

-23

Follow us on Twitter: @TheThreadBlog

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2011 in Education

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Are HBCU Grads Outdoing Non-HBCU Grads?

  1. tavalava

    April 20, 2011 at 4:53 PM

    It would have been nice to have seen the study. I question all studies like this that don’t list exactly what factors they looked at, how many participants were in the study, what schools such participants attended, did they volunteer, how long did they follow the participants (I assume it was over a length of time in order to come to the assumption that those that graduate from an HBCU do better financially), etc.

     
  2. ginandcigars

    April 26, 2011 at 2:14 PM

    if you click on the “you can read it here” link, the study is linked.

     
    • tavalava

      April 26, 2011 at 2:31 PM

      Thank you! I didn’t see where I could download the actual study.

       
  3. tavalava

    April 26, 2011 at 2:36 PM

    The time period looked at for this study ran from 1979-1992. I wonder what the current figures would look like.

     

Leave a Reply

 
