RSS

Music Monday: Kanye West

01 Aug

Alright folks, new thing to try to get you guys more involved with the site. I and the other bloggers here will be doing a top 10 of our favorite songs by a particular artist every Monday. I think this should start off with a bang so why not chronicle one of the biggest. Kanye West. Also, I’m really excited to see him at ACL this year (my first ever Austin city performance btw). Enjoy my favorites from Mr. West (Mr. West….)

10. Robocop

Why it made the list: Truthfully there were a lot of songs here at ten. I went with Robocop because well, I don’t have much here… just really dug it. *Kanye shrug* Moving on.

9. Flashing Lights

Why it made the list: I’m still baffled that Kanye didn’t take me up on my offer on a strobe light video for this song…. Which he eventually did use for All of the Lights (where are my royalties?!). As simple as Flashing Lights is, it has such staying power!

8. Everything I Am

Why it made the list: Everything I Am was just a simple reflection record for Kanye. The piano part is what got me in all honesty. It just tied in so well with the song. This would and should be higher on the list just because of much I loved it, but I just couldn’t find another place for it….

7. Through the Wire

Why it made the list: As one of the best singles on College Dropout imo, it just says so much that this album was amazing top to bottom. I mean this is 2nd to last song on that album and it made my list! How often do you get that from an album that one of the last few songs on a big album actually makes it as one of your favorite songs from the artist? Exactly.

6. Spaceship

Why it make the list: On a loaded debut album this is one of my favorites hands down. It’s the thoughts of Kanye wanting to be more than he is going from a customer service job into what he will eventually become.

5. All of the Lights

Why it made the list: One of the best collaboration songs of all time. This was an all star list of of artists and we were all completely befuddled as to how all these people can get on one track and it actually be enjoyable. It would either be an Ocean’s cast or Spider-Man 3/X-Men 3. Yes, I just took it there. Well, it turned out to be amazing and we learned again to just no longer doubt Mr. West.

4. Champion

Why it made the list: Champion followed Good Morning on Graduation and in my limited rap album knowledge, I consider those two songs to be the best 1 2 punch I’ve ever listened to on an album. Plus, like the song that it ended up placing behind, it’s such a great of life to strive to be a champion. Did you realize that you’re a champion in their eyes?

3. The Glory

Why it made the list: This song is the epitome of epic. Best song on the album. This helped spring the movement known as getting glory with some of the thread members. I’m out to get some glory! Just awesome.

2. Touch the Sky

Why it made the list. There just was no stopping the combo of Kanye and Lupe. Both rappers approaching the apex of their primes. Each of their next albums would be my favorite album they’ve made thus far (Graduation and The Cool respectively) Plus, Lupe made a shout out to Lupin the 3rd. What’s not to love?

1. Lost in the World

Why it’s number 1: From the moment I first heard this song from Kanye’s epic 30 minute music feature, I was hooked. The imagery of Kanye running after his fallen phoenix with this blaring in the background is just too much for words. I knew I had a new favorite from the get go. Who will survive in America?

Feel free to share your own lists with us and feel free to critique mine. That’s what this all about in the first place!

-The Big Socrates

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2011 in Music, Music Mondays

 

10 responses to “Music Monday: Kanye West

  1. primemeridian11

    August 1, 2011 at 10:05 AM

    I can’t take this list seriously. What kind of Kanye fan leaves out “Never Let Me Down” and “Can’t Tell Me Nothing”?!? I also would have included ‘Pinocchio’s Story’, ‘Last Call’ and ‘All Falls Down’.

     
    • MichaelYoungHistory

      August 2, 2011 at 12:11 AM

      Pinocchio’s Story is one of the only songs I utterly hated on that album…I liked that album more than most, but not that song

       
      • primemeridian11

        August 2, 2011 at 8:06 AM

        He performed it live once after his mom died with such raw emotion that it made me view the song differently. He cried his heart out in that song.

         
  2. The Big Socrates

    August 1, 2011 at 10:11 AM

    I’ve heard the grievances of Never Let Me Down and if I added it, it would’ve probably be in the 10-6 range. It doesn’t break my top 5. Can’t Tell Me Nothing is like my 6th or 7th favorite song on that ALBUM. No way it makes the list. If I remember correctly, you aren’t even a fan of Graduation, right?

     
    • primemeridian11

      August 1, 2011 at 10:17 AM

      I’m a fan of Graduation, but I disagree that it was his best album. College Dropout is [lyrically] his best album by far.

       
  3. realist23

    August 1, 2011 at 11:19 AM

    Production
    1. All of the Lights
    2. Through the Wire
    3. Power
    4. Stronger
    5. Flashing Lights
    6. Good Morning
    7. Welcome to Heartbreak
    8. Touch the Sky
    9. Love Lockdown
    10. Two Words

    Content
    1. Never Let Me Down
    2. Bring Me Down
    3. Jesus Walks
    4. Spaceship
    5. All Falls Down
    6. Heartless
    7. Coldest Winter
    8. Lost in the World
    9. Can’t Tell Me Nothing
    10. Everything I Am
    11. Hey Mama (honorable mention)

    The order of the content list is most interchangeable depending on my mood. All of them speak to me, though.

    Mr. Socrates, can you please paste my grievances from the Thread on here. Damn Facebook!

     
  4. The Big Socrates

    August 1, 2011 at 11:31 AM

    Per Realist23’s request.

    I feel like I’d have to make two top lists for Kanye. One would be strictly based on production. The other would be dedicated to content. I would have no problem putting songs like Never Let Me Down, Through the Wire, Bring Me Down, Good Morning, and Welcome to Heartbreak on both lists. Only one of these songs made your list.

    As for your number 1, you mentioned nothing of the actual song. I feel like you fell in the love with the video, which is fine. It is one of the most creative videos of our time, but “Lost in the World” is a beneficiary of placement. It just makes that scene more aesthetically pleasing.

     
  5. Typo-Critical

    August 1, 2011 at 12:34 PM

    I’m in agreement with primemeridian that “Can’t Tell Me Nothing” and “All Falls Down” should have been on here. Syleena Johnson easily kills the chorus on the latter, and Kanye crafted a number of still-to-this-day quotables on that joint (“couldn’t afford a car, so she named her daughter ‘A-Lexus,” “single Black female addicted to retail,” “we all self-conscious – I’m just the first to admit it”).

    “Amazing,” featuring Young Jeezy, would fall on my list, as would “Power,” “Heard Em Say” with Adam Levine (probably because the video for the song was so well done), “Addiction,” and “Drive Slow” (just because it sounds like Houston). I still can’t believe of all songs “Lost in the World” is #1. It’s a great track, but shouldn’t be at the top of any “best of Kanye” list. Glad to see at least “Through The Wire” broke your list.

     
  6. MichaelYoungHistory

    August 1, 2011 at 9:16 PM

    Good list. I’ll echo Prime by saying I would need “Never Let me Down” on my list. I don’t think it makes you less of a Kanye fan, though lol.

    My list is as follows (this was impossible)

    11) My Way Home (doesnt really count, but one of my faves, so its 11)
    10) So Appalled (luh that joint!)
    9) Touch the Sky
    8) Can’t Tell Me Nothin
    7) Last Call
    6) We Major
    5) The Glory
    4) Good Morning (never forget the first time i heard this)
    3) Gone
    2) Flashing Lights (to me, easily his most creative venture)
    1) Never Let me Down

    That will change tomorrow. That was not easy

     
  7. Young Okan

    September 6, 2011 at 3:13 PM

    This list is lacking for me. I’m not completely comfortable with this list, therefore I’ll give you (blogger) the title of a “qualified” Kanye Fan. Granted, these are good songs, but I think certain groups of people would come up with a completely different list. Perhaps the group of fans who listen to the content would never put “Everything I am” on the roster. Perhaps the Production heads might put “Say You Will” or “Monster” on that list…Perhaps we should also consider the verses he used on other rapper’s songs? “Put on”, “Run This Town” <-MURKED Jigga J Hova, "Murder to Excellence", "Go Hard"?

    Lastly, If we're going to differentiate the raps from content from production, then we might as well come with music videos as well. I mean really- Which other artist made a short film for the release of their album…………..? (Hint: Michael Jackson)

    S/O to whoever came up with this list. I digs Kanye Everything.

     

Leave a Reply

 
