RSS

Thirteen Thursday Thoughts (Sports Edition)

26 Apr

“Tower, this is Ghost Rider requesting a flyby.”

Disclaimer: Now, usually I don’t do this but uhh…there was a lot going on in the world of sports this week, both on and off the fields/courts/rinks of play.

The NFL Draft (1) is finally here. Unlike some of my fellow Threaders, I’m ready for it to be over. Seriously, the coverage has gotten ridiculous. Let us remind ourselves that the draft is merely a crapshoot for potential. Potential. What these cats did in college does not directly translate to the NFL. It could. It might. But it’s a gamble. I don’t need to look at numbers. I don’t need to look at trends. I don’t need to look at logarithms. The draft is a game of chance, and it has completely dumbed down my ESPN viewing experience. Let’s get this over with. Meanwhile, by the looks of things, the New Orleans Saints (2) may be in hot water yet again with the latest allegations of cheating. For their sake (and I’m not even a fan), I hope it’s not true. Who am I kidding, though? It probably won’t matter. If these allegations are true, Roger Goodell (3) will suspend the parties involved, and once again, it will be business as usual at the NFL nation under Goodell. Dear Saints, may the odds be ever in your favor. Oh, Mr. Goodell. He’s flexing his muscles by moving to suspend the Pro Bowl (4). Now, I can rally around this idea. What a bloody shambles that game has become. Players don’t play. The players that play don’t play hard. The players on Super Bowl rosters don’t even go. It’s just not the honor that it used to be. Hell, it’s not even in Hawaii anymore. We toyed with the idea of doing away with the Pro Bowl in one of my grad school glasses, but what do you replace it with? I don’t know what would make people watch. I’d be interested to see some kind of cool NFL field day type situation, though. Who’s the fastest player? I want relay races. I want head to head 100-yard dashes.Most bench press reps. Who has the best arm? As far as I’m concerned, this would be better than a sorry touch football game.

Damn, she's still fine in a mug shot.

There’s never a week that Twitter doesn’t deliver me a gem. This past week was no different. Deion Sanders (5) showed his insatiable appetite for attention again this week. He tweeted, “Pray for me and my kids now! They just witnessed their mother and a friend jump me in my room. She’s going to jail n I’m pressing charges!” That tweet just sounds like it came from a kid even as I read it. Look, I don’t know what made Sanders’ wife attack him. I don’t know why they’re still living under the same roof. I don’t know whose side to take. I’m glad Deion didn’t hit her, but this whole situation stinks to high heaven. Deion and Pilar should both be embarrassed and ashamed of themselves. Pilar and her friend shouldn’t have attacked Deion. Deion shouldn’t have brought his children into this situation by Tweeting a picture of his sons filing complaints with him. What an ugly and terrible situation. Who are the adults in this situation? Please, reveal yourselves. That divorce needs to hurry and be settled for the sake of everyone involved.

Ron Artest Metta World Peace (6) did it again. He demonstrated how unstable he is mentally. I’ve seen “the elbow seen ’round the world” too many times to count at this point, and each time I see it, there is no doubt in my mind that it was intentional. What bothers me more is the lack of remorse he showed after the elbow, though. Instead of checking to see if Harden was okay, he was squaring up with Serge Ibaka. Now that I’ve seen his interviews since the incident, I’m even more perplexed. He has said all the right things, apologized to Harden (not personally) and the Thunder organization, and accepted his 7-game suspension. But…Something is just not right with this guy. At all. He’s like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Just when I thought Artest World Peace had turned a corner, he goes back to his old habits. I want to like Dr. Jekyll, but Mr. Hyde keeps taking over and rearing his ugly head entirely too often. Someone get that shrink he spoke of a few years ago back on the line…

With that said, I’m excited about the NBA Playoffs (7) for some reason. This has been a shaky season full of inconsistency and lackluster performances, but the stage is set for an entertaining playoffs. The Rockets weaker teams have been eliminated, and it’s time for the best to emerge. I’ll go ahead and make my finals prediction: Miami Heat (8) vs. San Antonio Spurs (9). Give me the Spurs in 6. *Commence the implosion of Miami’s Big 3 and more slander at LeBron James’ (10) expense.* And can we keep the season at 66 games? I’m just saying…

Speaking of playoffs (Playoffs? Playoffs???), the NHL Playoffs (11) are already underway. This wouldn’t normally matter to me, but Joel Ward (12) of the Washington Capitals made the game-winning and series-clinching goal last night, much to the dismay of Boston Bruins fans. To add insult to injury, Joel Ward is black. *gasp* Several Bruins fans took to Twitter to express how upset they were and dropped plenty of N-bombs in the process. Really?? I asked if the NHL (13) had a race problem on Twitter. I quickly came to the conclusion that it wouldn’t matter even if the league acknowledged that it did have a problem. Non-whites aren’t exactly the target market. It’s quite unfortunate, but what can we do? I respect the Bruins and Capitals for releasing statements denouncing the kind of ignorance displayed by some of the Bruins fans last night, though.

Until next time, folks. -23

Follow The Thread on Twitter!

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
